Saturday, January 28, 2017

How Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru became the first PM of India

How Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru became the first PM of India?

Do you know, before became first democratically elected Prime Minster of India on 15 April 1952 under the Constitution of India, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru had to take oath of office four times?

First, he was administered the oath of office (loyalty to the Crown) as a Vice President of Viceroy's Executive Council of Interim Government of United India to assist transition of India and Pakistan from British rule, from the newly elected Constituent Assembly (under Cabinet Mission Plan of May 1946) by the Viceroy Lord Wavell on 2 September 1946, at 11:00 am at the Viceroy's House (Viceregal Lodge) in Delhi under the Indian Council Act 1861. His portfolio was External Affairs and Commonwealth Relations

Second, he was administered the oath of office and secrecy as Prime Minister of Dominion of India (elected by the Constituent Assembly) by the first Governor General of Lord Mountbatten (appointed by the Constituent Assembly) on August 15, 1947 at Viceregal Lodge, Delhi, under the India Independence Act 1947.

Third, he was administered the oath of office and secrecy as Prime Minister of Republic India (elected by the Provisional Parliament of India - Constituent Assembly was converted into PP) by the President Dr. Rajendra Prasad, in Rastrapati Bhavan, New Delhi on January 26, 1950, under the newly formed Constitution of India.

And fourth he was administered oath of office and secrecy took as the first democratically elected Prime Minister of India (elected by the Loksabha - winning General Elections) by the President Dr. Rajendra Prasad on 15 April 1952.

He took oath of office twice again in 1957 and 1962, winning General Elections. He is called the "Architect of Modern India", lead the nation for 18 years (1946-1964) till his death on 27 May 1964.

He unfurled the tricolour flag with 'Charkha' as President of INC, for "Complete Independence" on the bank of Ravi in Lahore at midnight on 31 December 1930 and hoisted the tricolour Indian National flag with 'Chakra' on 15 August 1947 above Lahori Gate of the Red Fort, Delhi. Lord Mountbatten wrote when a mysterious sudden appearance of the rainbow “... the three colours Saffron, White and Green on the flag of the new Dominion resembled so much the hues of the Rainbow”.

A public pledge taken on 26 January 1930 to celebrate it as India's Independence Day, became our Republic Day since 26 January 1950. A journey from 'Charkha to Chakra' is developing the Nation with unity in diversity.

Jai Hind🇮🇳

28 January 2017


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.