Saturday, January 21, 2017

The World is a Drama of Three Qualities

The World is a Drama of Three Qualities

There is One God (Purusha) but it has been presented through Trimurti (three forms, three powers) Brahma (creator), Vishnu (preserver) and Mahesh/Shiva (destroyer) in Hinduism. The universe is nothing but a drama created by the Almighty through the matter arises from the substrate called Prakriti (Nature). From Prakriti three primary qualities (gunas) emerge: Tamas (darkness, inactivity, ignorance), Rajas (activity, attachment) and  Satva (being ness, intelligence, peace). All three gunas are present in all objects and all beings but vary in relative amounts. 

Brahma represents Satva, Vishnu Rajas and Mahesh Tamas. The power of three Devas are named three goddesses, Maha Sarasvati, Maha Lakshmi and Maha Kali; they also represent the three gunas; Satva, Rajas and Tamas respectively. In Puranas: Ramayana, the three brothers Ravana, Kumbhkaran and Vibhishana were representing three gunas; Rajas, Tamas and Satva respectively. In Mahabharata, three brothers Dhritarashtra, Pandu and Vidur were representing three gunas; Tamas, Rajas and Sarva respectively.

The creatures' bodies carry three biological energies: pitta, vata and cough. Pitta represents Satva, Vata Rajas and Cough the Tamas. The balance of three is the health and imbalances is the disease.

The humans in Hinduism have been divided into three groups as per the dominance of their gunas/qualities. Satva dominated group was called Brahmanas, had been assigned Gyan karma (knowledge sharing); Rajas dominated group was called Kshatriyas, had been assigned Raja karma regulating and protecting the interests of the society; Tamas dominated group was called Shudras, had been assigned the work of service to the society, and mixed of all were called the Vaishyas generating resources and wealth to support all the four groups.

In Vedic time, the grouping was done based on karmas; but in later Vedic era, it was followed by birth; and now post independence, once again moving (very slowly) as per the karmas. Those who are in teaching and spreading knowledge are the Brahmanas, those who are regulating and protecting common goods of the society (regulators, govt, uniform services, etc) are the Kshatriyas, those who are in service to the  society (all services) are the Shudras and those who are generating wealth and resources (farmers, artisans, workers, traders, industrialists, etc) are the Vaishyas.

In fact each individual is the mixture of all. When he is teaching or spreading knowledge in his family/society he is Brahman; when he is regulating and protecting his family/society he is Kshatriya; when he is serving his family/society he is Shudra; and when he is earning income or generate resources for the family/society he is Vaishya. However, each individual carry a basic dominance of one of the three gunas and accordingly his likes and dislikes will be developed and he will perform the act better in the area of his guna dominance.

Democracy has given right and freedom to each individual to select his karmas. Therefore, each individual can select the path of his life and can grow in the karmas of his liking. All three gunas are always present in all humans with ability to consciously alter the levels (increase/decrease) of the gunas in our bodies and minds. A guna can be increased or decreased through the interaction and influence of external objects, lifestyle practices and thoughts. It is therefore, open field for all to become Brahman, Kshtriya, Shudra or Vaishya. Days have gone, where people identify their pride with the birth caste, feel superior and try to humiliate or suppress the lower section of the society. It is open for all by birth to select the path of life, whether the act of Brahmanas, act of Kshatriyas, act of Shudras or act of Vaishyas, or mixture of them all. All should follow the principles of equality, fraternity, liberty and justice. Ornaments may be different in design but all is Gold. Pots may look different in size and shape but all is earth. Similarly, all are equal, the same, created from the same material/energy called the God. 

गुणानेतानतीत्य त्रीन्देही देहसमुद्भवान् |
जन्ममृत्युजरादु:खैर्विमुक्तोऽमृतमश्रुते || (Bhagvad Gita 14.20)

By transcending the three modes of material nature associated with the body, one becomes free from birth, death, old age, distresses and enjoy the nectar (happiness) of life. 

सर्वं ब्रह्ममयं I Sarvam Brahmamayam.

शुभं भवतु कल्याणं ||

21 January 2017


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.