Thursday, November 23, 2017

Addiction of Sukha

Addiction of Sukha - Happiness

Sukha and Dukha are two words around them the whole of the human race revolves. Su and Dus are the prefix of the word ‘kha’. Su means good/sufficient and Du means bad/difficult and Kha means hole/empty in Samskrit. If the axel is fitted well in the centre of the wheel, the life is good but if it is not fitted well, the ride will be bumpy. The other meaning is Su+stha, Du+stha, to stand in good or bad. 
सर्वं परवशं दु:खं सर्वम् आत्मवशं सुखम् ।(जो चीजें अपने अधिकार में नही है वह सब दु:ख है तथा जो चीज अपने अधिकार में है वह सब सुख है ।)
Why are people addicted? Are they addict of objects or addict of person ? No, they are addict of Sukha. The position, thing, possession, power, place, etc, whatever gives him/her feelings of happiness/pleasures, he/she becomes addict. 

If there is Sukha in object or person, everyone will get the same happiness from that person or thing, whoever is in possession. But it is not true. A husband is unhappy with his wife but her lover finds happiness in her. Chicken Biryani waters the mouth of a non vegetarians but create hatred amongst the vegetarians. The alcohol or tobacco doesn’t carry taste, but still people enjoy them. Therefore, happiness doesn’t lie with the person or thing but with the mental status of understanding of the happiness of the possessor. And with repetition of pleasure feelings , he/she becomes addict of the person or object. It is an addiction of Sukham/Happiness (a status on individual mind), not the object. Sukha or Dukha is a condition of the mind.

On one side, all humans are in search of Sukha, but Buddha discovered the first truth as Sarvam Dukham (the world is full of suffering/unhappiness/discomfort/deprivation/distress). The second truth is, there is cause (desire) of misery. The third truth is, it is possible to eliminate misery. The fourth truth is, there is a path to move out of misery. He suggested eightfold path of salvation. And gave a very simple method of four steps to to observe oneself: Observe the body (Kayaanu Paschana); Observe the sensations (Vedananu Paschana); Observe the flow of mind (Chittanu Paschana); Observe your true nature (Dhammanu Paschana). Four Nobel Truths and Eightfold Path (moral code of conduct, making all right: view, aim, speech, action, livelihood, effort, mindedness, concentration). By ending desire, life can be liberated (freedom from rebirth).

People are after Sukha by creating noise around. But the real journey of searching happiness is from noise to silence. Mind (no mind) is silence but the thoughts are the noise. Silence bring the true nature in order, that is love, compassion and equality. All are the same, either nobody or somebody, the rays of the Almighty. 

By observing the mind, one can travel to the inner silence area and find out the source of the Sukha, the inner joy-happiness-bliss. Thereafter, he/she may not need any person or object to acquire happiness from outside. The addiction of Self is better than the addiction of others.

शब्दोके पार एक एवम् अद्वितिय शाशवत् शब्द है। 
वैखरी,मध्यमा,परा एवम् पश्यन्तिसे जो परम् है।
जो मौन शाश्वत् नाद है, स्वयं से प्रकाशित स्व है।
शून्य से सर्जनकी यात्रा प्रकृति और इश्वर निर्मित है।
हमे सर्जनसे शून्यकी तरफ यात्रा करनी है,
भ्रमसे ब्रह्मकी ओर चलना है। 

स्वयं शरणं गच्छामि। 

23 November 2017


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.