Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Three Godesses (तीन देवीयाँ), the three powers of the Almighty

Three Godesses (तीन देवीयाँ), the three powers of the Almighty

GOD means Generator, Operator(Protector) and Destroyer. Hinduism call Him Brahma, Vishnu and Mahesh (Shiva) respectively. 

Then what are Maha Saraswati, Maha Lakshmi and Maha Kali? They are the powers of the GOD. The power of Brahma is called Maha Saraswati , the power of Vishnu is called Maha Lakshmi and the power of Shiva is called Maha Kali. 

The Almighty is ONE but named differently for His acts of Creator, Protector and Destroyer (Brahma, Vishnu, Mahesh). And His power (feminine) is worshipped as Godesses (Shakti) Maha Saraswati, Maha Lakshmi and Maha Kali in India. Worshipping Shakti of the Shaktiman. Either we worship the Whole or Part of Him but the worship is of the One Almighty. 

Hinduism accept worship of many Gods and Goddesses for their Grace in deficient area, the way we go to the specialist of the subject for studies or treatments. And in a short span of life, the pray for His help is limited to the extent of our deficiency. As the Almighty is present in us, the energy required for fulfilling our desires need stimulation. Therefore the Mantras, the prayers, the Kirtan, the worship, the environment during worshipping are made in such that the energy in us but dormant get actived. The worshipping is nothing but a means of strengthening and stimulating our internal strength.

GOD has infinite power but for an individual, he/she has to pray for the strength he/she is in need. Therefore the Brahmanas worship Maha Saraswati for Knowledge, Kshatriyas worship Maha Kali for Power to kill evils, Vaishyas worship Maha Lakshmi for wealth/money and Shudras worship one of the three depending upon their service association with one of the three groups. Traditionally, their association with the Kshatriyas was more, therefore Kali worship is most common among them. For want of extra strength, some people worship Pitras and Pretas.

Surprisingly, all four varnas food habits were suitable to strengthen the body organ they need for better performance. As brain is made of fat and glucose is food for it, Brahmins like Laddu (Modak) made of Ghee and Sugar/jaggery. Their digestive system (Jatharagni) is considered the best. Kshatriyas need protein for building muscles, therefore they eat protein rich and non veg food. Vaishyas normally have less body movements, therefore they eat Carbohydrates, easy to digest. Farmers also prefer Carbohydrates so that they work easily in the farms. And Shudras, economically poor, eat as per income and support, the mix of all. 

First three groups were Specialists and the fourth one was Generalist!!! Now we are in the era of junk food, generating Junkists!

Worship Him (Brahma, Vishnu, Mahesh) or His Powers (Maha Saraswati, Maha Lakshmi and Maha Kali); it is worship of that One Almighty, the Brahman. He is the Ocean and we are his Waves. 

24 February 2015

NB: Varnas to be read by Karmas.


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.